The state of Michigan takes various measures to ensure that all its citizens are well protected on its streets. According to the state’s laws, every driver should be covered in case of an accident, no matter who’s at fault. Apart from protective laws, the state also levies strict violation rules to discourage wrong-doing. Read on to learn about getting an auto insurance in Michigan.
You have to purchase Bodily Injury Insurance and Property Damage Insurance in Michigan. The minimum requirements are:
- $20,000 coverage for injuries or death to an individual.
- $40,000 coverage for injuries or death to multiple people in an accident.
- $10,000 property damage coverage in another state.
What you don’t need
In the state of Michigan, the following insurances aren’t mandatory. You can, however, obtain them if you want to.
- Uninsured Motorist – This covers medical expenses when another driver causes the accident and doesn’t have an insurance.
- Medical Payments – This covers medical and funeral expenses to you and/or your passengers injured in an accident.
- Collision – This covers repair expenses to your damaged vehicle.Comprehensive – This covers repairs and replacement of your vehicle damaged by thefts, storms, or similar natural causes.
- Personal Injury Protection – This covers medical and continuing expenses like income for you and your passengers.
Specialty in Michigan
Michigan is known as a no-fault insurance state. It means, your car insurance will cover your medical expenses no matter which party caused the accident. In Michigan, the no-fault car insurance extends to the following benefits:
- Protection from personal injury
- Protection for property
- Property Damage Liability (PDL) or Residual Bodily Injury (RBI) insurance.
If multiple insurance companies deny you insurance because of bad driving records, you can always get a car insurance through The Michigan Auto Insurance Placement Facility (MAIPF).
To apply for a car insurance through the MAIPF, you can approach any auto insurance agent/company, including any of the companies that denied you insurance.
If you cause an accident and you don’t have an insurance, apart from being sued, you’ll be financially responsible for all the injuries and damages caused during the accident, Apart from this, you’ll face steep penalties as well.
- You’ll be charged between $200 and $500 in fines.
- You may face a prison sentence of up to 1 year.
- Your driver’s license will be suspended for 30 days or until you prove you have an auto insurance.
Driving under influence – DUI:
It’s illegal throughout the United States of America to drive with a blood alcohol content of 0.08 percent or higher. In Michigan, the penalties for driving under influence according to the DUI laws are:
- You’ll face up to 93 days in prison.
- You’ll be charged anything between $100 and $500 in fines.
- Your license will be suspended for 6 months.
- You’ll be ordered by court to blow into an apparatus before you can start your vehicle – ignition
- interlock device.
- You’ll have to pay a driver responsibility fee of $1000.
- You may be ordered to do community service.
Top 10 auto insurance companies in Michigan
- Geico insurance
- Progressive insurance
- USAA insurance
- State Farm insurance company
- Amica insurance company
- Auto-Owners Insurance
- All-State insurance
- Farmers Insurance
- Nation-wide insurance
Help and support
If you’re injured in an accident, but don’t have a car insurance, The Michigan Assigned Claims Program (MACP) can help you get protection from personal injury. The MACP will cover your medical expenses, but you will be liable to pay the MACP back. To get help from the MACP, visit their website.
The Michigan Auto Insurance Placement Facility (MAIPF) runs a program called Help Eliminate Auto Thefts (HEAT) to try and reduce theft crimes and auto insurance fraud in Michigan.
If you suspect any criminal activities in your area, you can report to the HEAT through their website or reach their helpline: 1-800-242-HEAT. If your tip is valuable, you may get a few rewards.
- If your tip leads to a warrant of suspects and an arrest of thieves and people involved in a fraud, you may get a reward of up to $1000.
- If your tip leads to the arrest of suspects of car theft or chop shop operations, you may get a reward of up to $10, 000.
- If your tip leads to the warrant and arrest of a suspected carjacker, you may be rewarded with up to $2000.