With a strict violation policy and DUI laws, the state of North Carolina is a safe place to make your house a home. Read on to understand what you need and what you don’t to buy an auto insurance in North Carolina.
North Carolina mandates liability insurance for all drivers. This covers expenses when you are at fault in an accident.
You also must purchase an uninsured motorist insurance that covers your own expenses in an accident with an uninsured driver. The minimum requirements for both insurances are,
- $30,000 coverage for bodily injuries to an individual involved in an accident.
- $60,000 coverage for bodily injury for all persons involved in an accident.
- $25,000 coverage for damages to property.
You can get the basic discounts on your insurance premium in North Carolina.
- Good driver/student discount.
- Multiple car discount.
- Homeowner’s discount.
- Discounts if you have an auto-theft alarm.
- Discounts if you have an airbag or safety device.
As in every state, high-risk drivers pay higher premiums in North Carolina as well. If you have a poor driving record and you apply for an insurance, the company may elect you to insure through the North Carolina Reinsurance Facility (NCRF).
Under the NCRF, insurance companies share coverage of high-risk drivers. If you’re getting an insurance through NCRF, you may end up paying more premium than the other drivers. The maximum coverage you can get through NCRF is,
- $100,000 coverage for bodily to an individual involved in an accident.
- $300,000 coverage for injuries to all persons involved in an accident.
- $50,000 coverage for damages to property.
- $2,000 coverage for medical expenses.
- $1,000,000 coverage for uninsured drivers.
What you don’t need
In North Carolina you can obtain these additional insurances, but they aren’t mandatory.
- Medical Payments – This covers medical and funeral expenses to you and/or your passengers injured in an accident.
- Collision – This covers repair expenses to your damaged vehicle.
- Comprehensive – This covers repairs and replacement of your vehicle damaged by thefts, storms, or similar natural causes.
In North Carolina, your insurance should not lapse. If the DMV of the state gets information that your insurance has elapsed, they will request an insurance company to confirm with an FS-1 that you’ve been covered for that time period.
If the company fails to confirm, you will be fined and your license plates will be revoked for up to 30 days. To reinstate your license plates,
- You have to pay a license plate fee.
- You have to pay fees relating to your insurance violation.
- You have to submit an FS-1 certificate (through your insurance agent) to prove your liability insurance.
Driving Under Influence – DUI
It’s illegal throughout the United States to drive with a Blood Alcohol Content of over 0.08 percent for adults. The DUI penalties for offenses in California are:
For your first offense you will be charged with,
- Prison time of up to 24 hours for a level 5 offender and a minimum of 12 months for a level 1A (three aggravated factors) offender.
- Up to $200 in fines and penalties.
- Up to 60 days to 1 year of license suspension.
For your second offense you will be charged with,
- Prison time of up to 24 hours for a level 3 offender and a minimum of 12 months for a level 1A offender.
- One to four years of license suspension if the offense was within 3 years of the previous offense.
- A court order to blow into an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) before you can start your vehicle.
For your third offense you will be charged with,
- Prison time from a minimum of 14-30 and a maximum of two years. And a minimum of 12 months for a level 1A offender.
- 1 year to permanent license suspension if the offense was within 5 years of the previous offense.
- If your license is restored, for the next seven years, you need to will be ordered by court to blow into an Ignition Interlock Device (IID) before you can start your vehicle.
North Carolina specialty
The state of North Carolina penalizes bad driving through a point system, under which insurance premiums increase 30 percent for one point. The program, called the North Carolina’s Safe Driver Incentive Plan (SDIP) adds points on a driver’s record if he or she violates a traffic rule or is found to be at-fault.
Top 10 auto insurance companies in North Carolina
- Fireman’s Fund
- Cincinnati Insurance Company
- Penn National Insurance
- Erie Insurance
- North Carolina Farm Bureau
- Utica National Insurance
- Victoria Insurance
Help and support
If you suspect insurance fraud anywhere in North Carolina,
- You can report it at the website of the National Association of Insurance Commissioners.
- You can report by email to email@example.com
- You can send your complaint through fax to (919) 715-1156.
- You can call (919) 807-6840 or the toll-free (888) 680-7684.